On Torture

“But you still haven’t proved to me that waterboarding is torture,” said Mr. Bates. “I don’t think you can argue that way until you have.”

“I haven’t proved to you that water is wet, either,” Mr. Magundi replied. “If I have to prove that deliberately inflicting pain and distress for the purpose of extracting information is torture, then I can’t think of a single word I can say without referring you to a dictionary for verification. If that’s the way you prefer to carry on a conversation, we can give it a try. Perhaps Brielle has a dictionary app on her phone, and would be willing to lend us her assistance.”

Leave a Reply

