On Atheist Politicians

“I don’t think I could vote for a politician who said he was an atheist,” I said.

“I’d choose a declared atheist over any opponent,” Mr. Magundi replied. “Politicians lie: it’s their habit, perhaps even their nature. Any ordinary politician will say what he needs to say to get himself elected. Why should I believe a politician who says he’s a faithful Christian any more than I believe one who says he’ll balance the budget? But a politician who declares himself an atheist knows that his declaration will cost him countless votes, and gain him virtually nothing. He proves by his statement that there’s at least one lie he won’t tell—that there’s at least one principle that’s more important to him than getting elected. For him alone, there really is concrete evidence of honesty: he says he’s an atheist, and, by God, I believe him.”

Leave a Reply

